Things to do during Maternity Leave! (before baby)

Hello again ladies,

I’m back again with another maternity related post. Now that I am on Maternity Leave I find myself laying around the house bored. All my friends are working and so is my partner so I have had to come up with a few things to keep myself occupied whilst I wait for my baby girl. I have about 4 weeks left until she comes so I am dying of excitement and I just want to meet her already. So I am going to share with you guys some of the ideas I have come up with on what to do whilst we wait for our little ones. If you have any other ideas, please feel free to share them in the comments so other mamas can take advantage.

1.Binge watch series

Ladies with our due dates fast approaching now is the time to relax before baby arrives. Grab yourself a bowl of popcorn, chocolate and a nice cold beverage (non alcoholic of course) put your feet up, relax and binge watch some TV. If you already have a favourite series that you need to catch up on then go right ahead and if you don’t already have a series your obsessed with have a look what out there. I personally recommend Devious Maids, Gilmore Girls, Suits and Desperate Housewives. The good thing about these series is that they have been around for a while meaning there are a lot of seasons to watch so you can catch up.

2. Nest

So recently I have found myself wanting to organize everything around me and also wanting to get everything ready for the arrival of my little princess. Whether it be organizing all of the paperwork in my house into a filling system or washing all the tiny clothes I have for her. Apparently this is called Nesting. Sit down and make a list of all the things you would like to do before the baby arrives and get straight on it. Just make sure you don’t over do it and take it easy. If you have any type of cleaning on your list make sure you take regular breaks, stay hydrated, don’t lift anything heavy and where possible use natural cleaning products. You can either make these products yourself (Pregnancy Safe DIY Cleaning Products) or alternatively buy brands such as Method at your local supermarket.

3. Batch Cook

When the baby arrives you probably wont have a lot of time or energy to do much other than care for your new baby. By batch cooking you can freeze some meals so you don’t have to worry about cooking dinner for a little while. Here are some recipe ideas.

 

4.Pack your Hospital Bag

By this point you probably already have this done, depending of course on how far from your due date you are. There are so many lists out there online for what you should pack for the hospital. I will write a post soon on what I have in my hospital bag but for now here are some sample lists to get you guys started.

 

5. Pamper yourself

I know what you must be thinking “Andreia you are crazy, we are all on a budget now”. Pampering yourself doesn’t mean breaking the bank. Pop into superdrug, Boots or any shop that sells beauty supplies. Get yourself a face mask, some bubble bath and just relax. If you don’t have a bath just grab a stool put it into the shower and just let the water run down your back. Trust me on this it feels like heaven. If you don’t want to buy a face mask try making your own (Top 10 DIY face masks during pregnancy)

6. Rest

The most important thing you should be doing before the baby arrives is getting as much rest as you can. Remember your life is about to turned 360 degrees you will have a little human that relies on your for everything they need so rest will not be one of our main priorities when baby arrives. Take lots of naps now whilst you can. Also remember labour is extremely tiring so you are going to need as much energy as you can get.

 

That’s it from me ladies. I hope you have enjoyed reading this post. Stay tuned for a pregnancy update post and what’s in my hospital bag post coming up very soon.

XOXO

Andreia

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

