The Devil that is called Heartburn!

Hello everyone…

So I am currently sitting in my bed writing this blog post for you guys. Nothing weird about that right?? Except for the fact that it is currently 4.39AM and I have not yet slept. All because of this damn Heartburn.

Heartburn is evil and is probably the only thing I hate about pregnancy. No matter what I do to try and get rid of it nothing seems to work. I have tried all the old wives tales, I have tried cutting certain foods out of my diet, I have tried sleeping practically sitting up but nothing seems to work. I am so tired 😦

For those of you who don’t know heartburn is a burning sensation that goes from the bottom of your breast bone to your lower throat. Its caused by the acid in your stomach being brought up to your oesophagus. This acid may also flow to your throat or your mouth leaving a bitter taste.  Heartburn can be cause by various different things but in pregnancy it is usually caused by the increase of the hormone called progesterone in our bodies.  The increase in progesterone is known to relax the valve that separates your oesophagus from your stomach allowing gastric acids to seep back up to your oesophagus causing the burning sensation in your throat. In late pregnancy heartburn is usually caused by your growing munchkin pushing your stomach and intestines upwards slowing down your digestion and forcing acids from your acid up to your oesophagus. Unfortunately heartburn is very common in pregnancy and affects up to 8 out of 10 pregnant women at some point during their pregnancy.

Even though the above causes can’t be helped there are other things that we are doing that trigger heartburn. To some people this may be eating certain foods. For example foods that are rich, high-fat and spicy can trigger heartburn. My trigger food is cheese. So simply eating a small amount of cheese in a sandwich can cause heartburn for about 2-3 days. And guess what?? I ate a panini yesterday that had cheese in it and no I am suffering for it.

There are little thing you can do to prevent it, such as eating smaller quantities more often through out the day. This leaves less time for acid to build up in your stomach. Another simple thing that can help in the prevention of heartburn is to not eat or drink too close to your bed time. Try stopping eating and drinking anything other than water  2 hours before you plan on going to bed and also try sleeping with your head and chest propped up in a sitting position. Now remember these things are preventative measures so may not fix heartburn all together.

Now as I was saying earlier I had not been able to find any remedies that actually got rid of the heartburn or even just soothed it until today. I have tried lemon in hot water, peppermint tea, eating a spoonful of sugar, antacids and sipping on water.. NOTHING WORKS!! However today I was doing some research about remedies to soothe heartburn because it is driving me crazy and I found a blog post on someone else’s blog talking about milk!! At first I was sceptical because I had never heard it before and also because I thought it was way too simple of a remedy to help with an issue I had been dealing with for the past 8 months.

I searched into the milk remedy a little more and found out that apparently milk helps neutralized the acids in the stomach therefore providing temporary comfort. So I tried it.. It worked!! the only downside is that when they mean temporary they really mean temporary. Half of a glass of milk gave me about 45mins to an hour of comfort, which should be enough to give you time to go to sleep without this horrible feeling. However instead of me taking advantage of this and going to sleep I was far to excited and couldn’t wait t tell you guys so decided to come on here and write a post to hopefully help all my expectant mama readers or anyone suffering from heartburn.

Well ladies now that I have been able to share this awesome info with you I am going to try and get some sleep now as I have another full day of nesting planned for myself for tomorrow.

Tired mama out!!

XOXO

Andreia

Leave a Reply

